Review – Tell Me Something Real by Kristen Kehoe

Cover

Tell Me Something Real by Kristen Kehoe
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary
Release Date: June 30, 2017
Buy Now: Amazon 

Synopsis

Lincoln Brewer was no stranger to disappointment and heartache. An addict mom, no money, and an autoimmune disease which required far more time and attention than she had, taught Lincoln early on that people like her could only survive—dreams were for other people, the kind to whom the word future meant more than a high school diploma and moving far, far away from the town they had grown up in. Go to school, work, run, repeat. Look for the day she could leave and begin life without the baggage. This was her life. And it was enough.

Until him.

Ford Slaughter didn’t give a damn about anyone. It was easier that way. Well, had been easier, until it landed him in the middle of a lawsuit/scandal that his parents couldn’t deal with, which then landed him in the middle of Podunk U.S.A., aka Albany, Oregon. Regardless of location, his plan was simple: engage with no one, go to school, and count down the days until he was eighteen and graduated so he could finally be free.

What Ford didn’t count on was the girl who literally fell into his lap that first day.

He didn’t count on Lincoln Brewer.

He didn’t count on falling in love.

Review

I generously received this ARC from the author in exchange for an honest review…

O-M-F-G! I never realized just how difficult it was going to actually be for me to write this review until I sat down to do it. This story made me feel happy, sad and heartbroken all at the same time – if that even makes sense, which I think it will if you’ve read this story. Tell Me Something Real was such an emotionally captivating read for me because I have witnessed firsthand the feelings of someone pulling away like Colt did to Lincoln, but fortunately in my experience it wasn’t anything like the situation seen in the book. I can’t even count on one hand the number of times that I teared up well reading this story, but I can tell you that this is a story worth every single tear.

All of the characters in this story are so relatable to young adults and I think that the author did a phenomenal job with her character development. I felt such a connection with these characters, every single one of them in some way. This was not only a story about Ford and Lincoln, but something so much deeper. This was a story about friendship, family and love. It was about growing up and learning who you are and why things happen the way they do. You know what they say – “What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger!”

Thank you Kristen Kehoe for writing this story. I think that this is one of those stories that every teen and young adult needs to read because it deals with a lot of issues that teens today are struggling with. I absolutely adored this beautiful read and I cannot wait to see what you come up with next, but can I ask…IS EVIE GETTING A STORY? Please tell me YES!

Teaser

About Kristen Kehoe

I am the youngest of three daughters and I think this is the reason I enjoy writing about love so much.

I come from a family of high school sweethearts, save myself (thank God), and I have watched how finding love, the real kind, can make a person stronger. My parents have inspired me every day because they found each other at eighteen, got married at nineteen, and never looked back. Now, 35 years later they are still going strong and it makes me realize that love really does aide us in all things.

I write young and new adult books because I think it’s the time period in our lives that is the most difficult and I enjoy love stories because we all need hope. Reading about love gives me hope, so I hope my writings about love do the same for any reader who happens to glance at the pages.

I have a daughter, a Great Dane, and a beautiful husband. I love books, coffee, and my family…and shoes. Just saying.

Connect with the author: Website / Facebook / Twitter / Goodreads

banner

2 thoughts on “Review – Tell Me Something Real by Kristen Kehoe

Leave a Reply

