Review – The Tutor by K. Larsen

18301776_810735759076631_2942082981572735602_n

The Tutor by K. Larsen
Genre: Dark Romantic Suspense
Release Date: June 5, 2017
Buy Now: Amazon / B&N / Kobo / iBooks

Synopsis

After a party gone wrong and in desperate need of money for the fall semester of college, twenty-year-old Nora Robertson needs to escape her hometown.

She accepts a summer long live-in tutoring job for a handsome man and his little sister at a secluded home deep in the mountains.

There is no running water.

No electricity.

No internet or cell service.

When her tutoring job ends she’s hit with a brutal turn of events … she’s not permitted to leave.

After months in captivity, she makes a harrowing escape with her student that ends in a car accident on a desolate road. When Nora comes to, her student is missing. In a desperate attempt to find the girl, Nora will have to recount her time held captive.

The good and the bad.

Can Nora and the authorities work together to find the man who took her? Will they rescue the girl Nora tried to save?

Author’s Note: This is a dark romantic suspense. Trigger warning: all of them. This will not elicit warm fuzzy feelings!

Review

I generously received this ARC from the author in exchange for an honest review…

If you are looking to read something that will keep you on the edge of your seat from start to finish then look no further because The Tutor by K. Larsen is just the book for you! This story is filled with an element of suspense that will captivate any book lover looking for something completely different and out of their normal element.

There is so much I want to say about this extraordinary book but at the same time I truly believe that this is one of those stories that you need to go in blind and AVOID spoilers at all costs because it will only enhance the overall reading experience. This was my first experience in to K. Larsen’s style of writing and all I can say is where in the world have I been these past few years? Under a rock it would seem, but I won’t be letting that happen again. I am officially stalking all things K. Larsen from now on – hope that’s not to forward of me!

It wasn’t until I started my blog a little over a year ago that I started to expand my horizon and jump into new genres that I never thought I would try, but I am so glad that I have because I’ve been able to experienced so many hidden gems in the book world. The Tutor by K. Larsen is without a doubt one of my new favorite reads of 2017 and I cannot wait to see what she comes us with next! On an added note I also have a whole selection of earlier releases to read and discover even more about this extraordinarily talented writer!

Excerpt

Holden dressed me that first day out of the box. He dressed me and left me in his bedroom on his bed. I sobbed until my body had no more liquid to expel. I curled into a tiny ball and willed everything not to be true. At some point, probably mid-day, he came in with a bucket, washcloth, and tray of food. He gently, tenderly almost, sat me up and fed me. Small bites. He murmured that things would be okay. That I would see. When the food was gone, he lifted my dress from my body. I stared at the wall unmoving. He dampened the washcloth and washed me head to toe. There was nothing sexual about it. It was simply cleaning the filth and stench from my skin. If I’m honest, I almost enjoyed it. Being clean is something we take for granted. He left me in his room after a swift kiss on the crown of my head until dinner. He brought in a tray and fed me again. Afterward, he brushed my hair free of all the knots and braided it. When he finished I laid back down and squeezed my eyes shut so tightly that the apples of my cheeks began to burn.

About K. Larsen

You talk. I listen. You move. I watch. You don’t know I exist, but I learn from watching you. I absorb the minute details you emit. I use them. I write. I take the smallest sliver from you, about you and I piece it into a character. It takes so many little slivers to create a whole, complete being. I watch people. I hear words, individual words from many different conversations floating around. I stockpile them away. I rearrange them into to something else. Nothing goes to waste. There is a little of each one of you in each person I create. You are all of them and they are all of you. Good combined with bad. Kind mixed in with evil. All the little slivers compound on each other creating something bigger. That is how my writing works.

Connect with the author: Website / Facebook / FB Group / Twitter / Goodreads

18620290_819184118231795_3438556856630354574_n

Leave a Reply

