Book Review: Fifteen Seconds of Normal by Alex Marestaing

cover

Fifteen Seconds of Normal by Alex Marestaing
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary Fiction
Release Date: October 11, 2016
Buy Now: Amazon

Synopsis

Step 1: Transfer high schools 
Step 2: Hide your Tourette’s 
Step 3: Find your fifteen seconds of normal 

Kaeya Garay has a plan. And it seems to be working.But when a curious interruption named Thatcher Kelly stumbles upon her “safe” place in the school’s abandoned art gallery, her grand plans for normalcy are suddenly derailed. 

Set over the course of three weeks, Fifteen Seconds of Normal is the quirky saga of a literature obsessed teen on the edge of a meldown and the hope driven heroine who begins to pull him back. Fans of Eleanor and Park be warned. You won’t be able to put this one down.

Review

I generously received this ARC from YABound Book Tours Review Query in exchange for an honest review…

When I first started reading this book I was a little apprehensive as to whether or not I was actually going to like it. When I first began reading this book I was slightly confused as to what was really happening, but after a few chapters in, it all started to click and I was hooked until the very end. I thought that the author did an extraordinary job with his character development and I instantly connected with both Kaeya Garay and Thatcher Kelly! Kaeya’s Tourette’s Syndrome was accurate that it’s clear that the author did his research before hand. This is a breath of fresh air because some authors today don’t do their research and in the end it makes the story more confusing then enjoyable.

Overall, I thought that this book was well worth my time and I strongly urge everyone to give it a try.

Promo.jpg

About Alex Marestaing

Once upon a time, author Alex Marestaing wrote a random letter to the Walt Disney Company asking if they needed any creative help. Fortunately, Disney had mercy on his embarrassing attempt to break into the publishing scene and gave him his first writing job. A lot has happened since then, including four novels, a beautiful wife, three kids, two cats, an extremely mellow dog, an honorable mention at the London Book Festival, a stint covering soccer in Europe and the U.S., and fun freelance work for companies such as Lego, Thomas Nelson/Harper Collins and The Los Angeles Times. Oh yeah, he also speaks at conferences around the country giving people advice such as “Writing letters to random companies isn’t always such a bad idea”

Connect with the author: Website / Twitter / Goodreads

banner

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s