Featured Review: Beautiful Delusions (Pride and Honor #1) by Ember Raine Winters <3

❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ 

I am so happy to be featuring this extraordinary new release written by the beautifully and talented Ember Raine Winters on my blog today! You can pick it up for ONLY $0.99 until after Valentine’s Day!

❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ 

33021695

Beautiful Delusions by Ember Raine Winters
Series: Pride and Honor #1
Genre: Romantic Suspense
Release Date: February 8, 2017
Buy Now: Amazon

Synopsis

Kaylee 
One night . . . 

One terrible accident . . . 

That was all it took to turn my entire life upside-down. My PTSD is worse than ever. The terror I thought I left in my past is back, and this time I might not survive the horrors he promises to bring. 

An old friend, Griffin, my best friend at one time bulldozes his way back into my life. He has the power to consume me. I want him… and that is terrifying. Can he actually protect me from the evil that wants to tear me apart? 

Griffin 
Fifteen years . . . 

That’s how long I have let the guilt eat me alive for hurting her with my words the way I did. I never thought I would get the chance to atone for my sins. Now that I do, I will stop at nothing to help her, save her . . . keep her. 

The only thing I want, apart from Kaylee in my bed, is to protect her from the monster who wants to destroy her.

bd-teaser-3bd-teaser-2

Review

I generously received this ARC from the author in exchange for a honest review…

“When we feel weak, we drop our heads on the shoulders of others. Don’t get mad when someone does that. Be honored. For that person trusted you enough to, even if subtly, ask you for help.” – Lori Goodwin

Beautiful Delusions by Ember Raine Winters is a beautifully captivating story about a women, Kaylee Robbins who has tragically suffered at the hands of a terrible accident. This amazingly strong women has experienced more tragedy then a person should ever have to experience in a single lifetime. Then enter in Griffin, a man who is suffering from his own demons. I absolutely adored every aspect of this story and enjoyed the concept of two lost souls coming together to heal one another.

Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder, or PTSD as it is most commonly referred to is something that millions are affected with day in and day out. Before reading this book I had very little insight on what PTSD truly entailed, but after reading this extremely telling book I feel that I have been fortunate enough to gain a better understanding.

I strongly recommend picking up a copy of this book today!

Author Interview

Aurora: When did you first realize that you wanted to be a writer?

Ember: I don’t think there was ever that moment when I decided that was what I wanted to do. I wrote a book and just decided to see what I could do with it. HAHA!

Aurora: What is the first book you ever wrote and did you ever publish it?

Ember: I wrote a bunch of stuff when I was a kid. I just recently saw them and laughed. My teacher bound them all. It was quite entertaining! The first full length novel I ever wrote was my first self-published effort as well. It is a YA Dystopian Novel called Born to Resist.

Aurora: I noticed on your profile that you are a self-published author and was wondering what made you decide to go that route?

Ember: At first it was simple, the genre that I was writing in wasn’t marketable with agents and publishers. After a while I just liked the idea of being an indie author. There are so many things that indie writers can do that traditionally published authors can’t. Plus, the community is amazing and I love the freedom I have to market my own books.

Aurora: Do you have any advice for aspiring writers? 

Ember: Oh man! I haven’t been doing this long enough to really give advice! *chuckles* Get active on Goodreads! It is the best place for writers to learn what they need to do to publish and market their work. Don’t give up! People think that the hardest part is writing the book and while that is hard everything that comes later is even harder, but if you really want it, don’t give up and work your tail off! Haha!

Aurora: How do you deal with writers block?

Ember: I don’t haha! I walk away from a project for a while and then pick it up later. Sometimes a fresh set of eyes helps.

Aurora: What genre are you most connected to and why?

Ember: I love the romance genre! There are some great authors with some amazing books and the readers are phenomenal. I like the really angsty books that make you think and give you all the feels.

Aurora: Now that we’ve got the easy questions out of the way lets move on to talking about your latest release! What is the inspiration behind Beautiful Delusions?

Ember: Beautiful Delusions came at a pretty dark time in my life. Like Kaylee, I suffer from PTSD and I noticed a lack of heroines in the romance genre or the book industry as a whole with the disorder. There are plenty of military veterans with it in the industry, but not women. I wanted to show women who suffer from it that they are not alone. Some of the flashbacks were based on actual events in my past so it was hard to write but also extremely therapeutic. I also wanted to show the families who may be dealing with loved ones who suffer that they aren’t alone and to hopefully give them a better understanding of what the people in their lives deal with on a daily basis.

Aurora: Are your characters based on anyone you know?

Ember: Kaylee and Tara are loosely based on me and my own sister-in-law. The rest were made up.

Aurora: If Beautiful Delusions was to be made into a movie who would you want to play your main characters Kaylee and Griffin? 

Ember: Liam Hemsworth would make an AMAZING Griffin! I would totally love that! I think Emma Stone would be a fantastic Kaylee. I hadn’t really thought about it until now but yeah I couldn’t think of a better cast for those two characters!

Screen Shot 2017-02-12 at 12.44.12 AM.png

Aurora: What are your future plans for this series? Are we going to see more of Kaylee and Griffin or a new set of characters?

Ember: Kaylee and Griffin will still be around but each book will follow a new couple. The story will most definitely continue through the series and there are some big surprises in the works for this large cast of characters!

bd-teaser-1

About Ember Raine Winters

Ember Raine Winters is a new author who just self published her first book. She went to community college to study political science and philosophy. She is currently taking classes to get her BS in business majoring in Sports management. She is an avid reader mostly fantasy and science fiction with a little romance thrown in as well. She loves writing Science Fiction mainly dystopian but is trying her hand in Fantasy as well.

Connect with the author: Website / Facebook / Twitter / Goodreads

A4IR.jpg

3 thoughts on “Featured Review: Beautiful Delusions (Pride and Honor #1) by Ember Raine Winters <3

Leave a Reply

