Release Blitz & Book Review: War Poppy (War #1) by Nicole Lynne (Stevie J. Cole & LP Lovell)

cover

War Poppy by Nicole Lynne (Stevie J. Cole & LP Lovell)
Series: War #1
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Release Date: February 6, 2017
Buy Now: Amazon

Synopsis

Poppy 

Love and war. Two words that should have little association, but to me the two go hand in hand. Both are a tragedy. They rip you open and spit you out. The war killed my husband, Connor, shattered my will to live, and took my best friend. Brandon may not have physically died in that war, but his soul did. And now we’re left to pick up the wreckage. Expected to move on when all that is left is the ruins of a life we once had. 

Brandon 

War. It took everything from me, even myself. When you’re only able to exist, death seems like a blessing. Pain…a welcome distraction. I ran from everything associated with my past, and then she found me, fighting, drowning myself in whisky, trying to forget. She reminds me of Connor, of what I’ve lost—what we’ve lost. In the midst of destruction, she’s a salvation I don’t deserve. 

I shouldn’t love him. 

I shouldn’t love her. 

Love is a war we never should have fought.

Review

I generously received this ARC from Give Me Books in exchange for an honest review…

tumblr_lrc3vkyl5w1qam9bxo1_500

I don’t even know where to start with this book. War Poppy was a truly emotional read that left me crying from beginning to end. I’ve read stories that have made me breakdown and cry, but with this book it felt like so much more. At one point I had to completely stop reading in the middle of a chapter because I could hardly see the words on the page (or my kindle screen to be more accurate) through my tears.

This book shows how two lost souls can come together and create a story so packed full of emotion that it leads the readers craving for more. Poppy and Brandon’s intense feelings were leaping off the page and hitting me right in the gut. These two have been through so much and yet they are able to find hope within each other. Poppy, Brandon and Connor had been a trio since childhood, but after the death of Connor the two of them must find a way to cope with the loss of one of their own. Can two lost and broken souls really be reborn or is their story forever over?

I strongly recommend this beautifully written novel. but I do caution that this is an extremely emotional read that will leave you in tears and will stay with you for a longtime after finishing it! The authors Stevie J. Cole and LP Lovell a.k.a Nicole Lynne did a truly extraordinary job with this book and I already can’t wait to read the next book in the series especially if it is anything like War Poppy!

teaser-2teaser-3

Giveaway

Click here to enter giveaway for a chance to win 1 of 20 signed paperbacks (selection of Stevie J. Cole’s and LP Lovell’s books), $50 Amazon gift card & 2 x $25 Amazon gift cards! 

About Stevie J. Cole

Stevie J. Cole lives deep in the woods of Alabama with her husband and two precious daughters. She studied Epidemiology concentrating on cancer research but has always had a passion for writing. Some of her stories will strip you bare, some will give you nightmares, but the one thing she can promise is that she will always give you stories that make you feel. 

Raw. Gritty. Love.

Because sometimes characters need to be flawed.

P.S. Stevie’s greatest fear is the impending zombie apocalypse. Think about it: swarming armies of decaying, oozing corpses stumbling around with clicking teeth, trying to eat your face. Nothing about that is good. NOTHING!

Connect with the author: Website / Facebook / Twitter / Goodreads

About LP Lovell

Lauren Lovell is an indie author from England. 

She suffers from a total lack of brain to mouth filter and is the friend you have to explain before you introduce her to anyone, and apologise for afterwards.

Lauren is a self-confessed shameless pervert, who may be suffering from slight peen envy. 

LP loves to hear from readers so please get in touch.

Connect with the author: Website / Facebook / Twitter / Goodreads

banner

Leave a Reply

